top of page

victory


Oh, the week I had. And oh, the beauty and timeliness of God's words speaking through the message at church this Sunday.

There was nothing "crazy" or out of the ordinary about this week... but I was experiencing anxiety.

Anxious thoughts and a racing heart made for a few restless nights. Many of the words going through my head seemed to directly target the weakest parts of me.

The Bible tells us we are in a spiritual battle. And although we don't normally see this battle with our eyes (or at least recognize it) we feel its effects. In death. In anxiety. In fights and stress and sickness and pain.

My feelings and thoughts can be so intense sometimes, all the more showing me that there is a battle not only around us but within us. There is an enemy that wants to steel and kill and destroy not only our lives but also our work for the Kingdom of God.

I recently had a dream that reminded me of the tendency we have to ignore or be apathetic towards the battle. It is all real; but we shouldn't have any fear. Satan may strike our heel, but Christ has crushed his head. Therefore, in Christ, we have already been made victorious over evil.

Just because Christ has already won the battle against evil for us, it doesn't mean we no longer have to fight sin and the enemy. We have to actively fight against the sin we witness around (and in) us as well as the sin that directly attacks us. But one day we will fully get to celebrate with the winning team in Heaven- free from fighting.

I imagine crying tears of joy, collectively lifting our champion, Jesus, up over our heads in praise. I want to celebrate knowing I gave my every effort to fight for my team, even though I'm not the reason for victory, and never will be. I want to know I joined the fight and that even though I could never deserve to win, Jesus, my champion gave me the ability to be on his team and to fight alongside Him every second, sharing in His strength. This is our hope. This is what we hold on to in the darkest of battles and on the brightest of days. Jesus: our victory.

 

A mighty fortress is our God, A bulwark never failing; Our shelter He, amid the flood Of mortal ills prevailing. For still our ancient foe Doth seek to work us woe; His craft and pow’r are great, And, armed with cruel hate, On earth is not his equal.

Did we in our own strength confide, Our striving would be losing; Were not the right Man on our side, The Man of God’s own choosing. Dost ask who that may be? Christ Jesus, it is He; Lord Sabaoth is His name, From age to age the same, And He must win the battle.

And tho’ this world, with devils filled, Should threaten to undo us; We will not fear, for God hath willed His truth to triumph through us. The prince of darkness grim — We tremble not for him; His rage we can endure, For lo! his doom is sure, One little word shall fell him.

That word above all earthly pow’rs — No thanks to them — abideth: The Spirit and the gifts are ours Thro’ Him who with us sideth. Let goods and kindred go, This mortal life also; The body they may kill: God’s truth abideth still, His kingdom is forever.

-Martin Luther

 

"Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?"

- 1 Corinthians 15:55

" Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms."

-Ephesians 6:10-12

God speaking to Satan :"And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.”

-Genesis 3:15


bottom of page